I looked

I looked in the mirror

What did I see?

A nose, 2 ears, some teeth but no me!

You see, I learned something, about to be or not to be.

I used to worry and fret over whether I was here.

Led by pain, guided by fear

Weary of tears, dry though they were

Tired of things

Plodding

Adrift in a gale 

Raging desire

Impotent thoughts

Importance lost

To the place in the mirror that held all my fear

Finally it happened; when? Who cares?! 

Cuz I looked, I stared, I yelled “no fair!” 

Then he laughed at the mirror, for no-one was there!

4 thoughts on “I looked”

Leave a Reply

